2 Open Realtime games
    Pages:   1   (1 in total)
  1. #1 / 16
    Standard Member XxNameHerexX
    Rank
    Private
    Rank Posn
    Unranked

I am a new board designer and i have an idea but i dont think im skilled enough yet, anyone want to help start making it?

The idea is the map of "Alagaesia" from the "Inheritance" Book Series. I was thinking more of the corner of the map near the "Hadarac Desert" and the "Spine"

Im open to any ideas and comment's. Thanks.

2. #2 / 16
    Prime Amidon37
    Rank
    General
    Rank Posn

How are you with graphic manipulation?  That's the hard part for many people (such as I).

If you have an image in mind post a link.

3. #3 / 16
    Rank
    Private
    Rank Posn
    Unranked

http://alagasiaonline.wikia.com/wiki/File:AlagaesiaMap.jpg

Here is the link and i have only just started to play around with gimp, here is my first map.

http://www.wargear.net/boards/designer/5978

4. #4 / 16
    Brigadier General M57 M57 is offline now
    Standard Member M57
    Rank
    Brigadier General
    Rank Posn

I really like the crayon-y overlay on the board image - It might be a tad too heavy depending on the colors that you include with the board.  Really, there are a lot of elements that I think are very impressive for a first shot.  I think your +2 continents should perhaps be +3. The one in the south actually has more territories than the +5 above it.

The layout and spread of choke-points looks very playable.  I would look to thin out the territory borders a bit more and perhaps smooth them as well (No smoothing/aliasing on the fill map).

Looks like you're getting the hang of things.  Post here if you run into any troubles. There are a number of very good designers who are likely to be willing to help - and feel free to PM me if you like.

Card Membership - putting the power of factories in your hand.

5. #5 / 16
    Premium Member berickf
    Rank
    Brigadier General
    Rank Posn