Pages:   12   (2 in total)
  1. #21 / 29
    Brigadier General M57 M57 is offline now
    Standard Member M57
    Rank
    Brigadier General
    Rank Posn

Snake Eyes wrote

Sadly, there are a lot of things that you can sell for $1-5 that you simply can't give away.  As soon as you put that price on the same free item, people line up to get it.

So true.. I worked in retail for a small botique-y audio store for a few years, and some things just wouldn't sell unless you made them more expensive than a competitive product.  It's all about perception.

It should be possible to play WG boards in real-time ..without the wait, regardless of how many are playing.
    https://sites.google.com/site/m57sengine/home

2. #22 / 29
    Enginerd weathertop
    Rank
    Brigadier General
    Rank Posn

M57 wrote:
    weathertop wrote:

i for one haven't ever paid (and probably won't) for an app - tho if i pay for membership then i aught to get the app for free.

I've spent more on apps than the value of the iPad.  But I have to say I get my money's worth.  It literally replaces thousands of dollars worth of hardware for me.   Examples include..

Mixing board with moving faders in my recording studio.  There's $1000 piece of hardware right there.  $50 app.

Professional piano tuning app.. $300.   I haven't paid a piano tuner in over 2 years now ..and my piano is ALWAYS in tune.  I tweak it weekly.  .. At $125 a pop for a RL tuner, times 3-5 visits a year ..do the math.

Not to mention the apps I use as an educator. 

Yeah, there are a lot of decent free apps out there.. true, there's crap that costs money.. But there's stuff out there that's a game changer for me and I don't mind spending the money if it makes my life more enjoyable and my work more efficient.

definitely understand buying apps for use, but most of the stuff i have is for fun.

I'm a man.
    But I can change,
    if I have to,
    I guess...

3. #23 / 29
    Premium Member Andernut
    Rank
    Lieutenant General