Pages:   1234   (4 in total)
  1. #41 / 71
    Standard Member DennisG
    Rank
    Private
    Rank Posn
    Unranked

asm wrote:

First of all (and I can't believe that I am the one saying this), you guys need to be more subtle. As Dennis smugly points out, he has chosen quite the handy domain name. So calling him names may not be our cleverest move.

That being said, I'm not sure that there's any way around the fact that in all probability it's a total waste of time to convince him of anything. If the accuracy of his ratings aren't important enough to give the same amount of time to each site on the list, there's jut nothing we can do about that.

Example: ConquerClub's tremendously poor interface is not a weakness for that site, because it is possible to download and run a ton of other shit, that somebody on that site somewhere told you to, that's hopefully not a virus, that almost brings it up to par. However, when a total beginner signs up on WarGear.net, it may take longer than 3 minutes to find a map to play on that suits that person's tastes. Win: CC

Now, I have never looked at this playriskonline.net, so this is no more than idle speculation, but ever since I heard of it I sort of suspected that it may at base be nothing more than a shill for whatever one "Risk" site Dennis originally hails from. Keep this in mind when evaluating his arguments. What better promotional tool for your site than a supposedly objective third-party rating site that consistently gives your site the best marks? Think about it.

I will admit that ConquerClub is the site I am most familiar with, land grab second, warlight third, so perhaps  my bias of experience is showing.  So perhaps I should consider the fact that new users has to put in alot of work on the CC interface to make it competant.  My reviews are quantitative and qualitative, if the numbers bug you, stick to the later.