210 Open Daily games
3 Open Realtime games
    Pages:   12   (2 in total)
  1. #1 / 21
    Standard Member U-555
    Rank
    Private
    Rank Posn

Hello:  I am in dire need of a moral boost and hoping someone can supply some words of encouragement.  I am involved in a few games at present and attempting to get a better feel for maps that I am not very good at.  The down side is that I find I am going through a streak of incredibly bad die roll sequences.  I can start from numerous locations in strength against territories of 2 and find myself depleted to where I now equal the opposition with 2.  I can understand it occasionally but this streak is depressing.  I barely win a card on any board I play.  Team mates have stopped communicating in team games.  I suspect they just want a new partner, someone who has better luck with dice.  When it gets bad enough, I guess a player just loses interest in playing anymore.  I'll let you know.  I doubt that is far off.  I guess what I'm asking is, am I doing something wrong?  I just can't believe the rolls I'm getting.

2. #2 / 21
    Standard Member BTdubs
    Rank
    Colonel
    Rank Posn

I took a quick look at your recent stats, and would point out that despite losing a few in a row, you are actually higher in your global rank points now than you were at the end of December. 

When playing 5-to-7 player games, you lose more than you win pretty much all the time, but the wins are bigger.  Human psychology is not very good at this kind of situation. A general rule is that people feel losses about 2x as bad as reality, and feel wins about 1x as good as reality. 

So I would say, a) you are not in as bad shape as it feels, B) maybe you should play a couple games on a comfortable board and c) think about whether your bad rolls are making you behave differently -- rolling one more time than you should?  I sometimes do an extra rage-roll when I am frustrated, or overextend when I finally, finally get a decent attack going.