1 Open Realtime game
    Pages:   1234   (4 in total)
  1. #61 / 74
    Premium Member Yertle
    Rank
    Major General
    Rank Posn

Ozyman wrote:

Kind of related - having some sort of filtering for players could help with some of these issues.  I'd love to have some way of limiting boards I am learning to other newbs, and conversely filtering newbs from games where I am an expert.

The best example of where this would be helpful is a game like 'hex'.  Basically if I want to try a public game of this and I start a game up, it is likely to be joined by someone like Hugh or some other top player.  I am almost 100% certain to lose this game, as well as the next game, and the game after that, and probably every game ever.   So now, even though I kind of like Hex, i'll probably never play a public game on it.  

I'm still not a fan of this due to the ability to filter out top (or whoever) players from joining your games.  I could possibly get it if it was more system based by players have "levels" or something similar in which they have the option of playing within their levels, but that's still a bit iffy IMO and slight fear of spreading the player pool thinner for starting games.

If I could figure out how to draw a line in Photoshop I would be a lot more well off with the Mac thing...

2. #62 / 74
    Brigadier General M57 M57 is offline now
    Standard Member M57
    Rank
    Brigadier General
    Rank Posn

I haven't dredged up any of the old threads related to this issue, but one suggestion I seem to remember making was for members to have the ability to host un-ranked non-private games. (maybe this could be a Premium feature). There are 30-40+ games on the open list on any given day so I don't see the thin list argument as holding as much weight.

https://sites.google.com/site/m57sengine/home

3. #63 / 74
    Shelley, not Moore Ozyman
    Rank
    Brigadier General
    Rank Posn