178 Open Daily games
0 Open Realtime games
    Pages:   1234   (4 in total)
  1. #1 / 62
    Shelley, not Moore Ozyman
    Rank
    Brigadier General
    Rank Posn

I was looking into it a bit, and I now see this TrueSkill implementation on github with a BSD license:

https://github.com/sublee/trueskill

It looks simple to use & well documented:

http://trueskill.org/

Looks to me like you can use that code, you just can't use the trademark TrueSkill(TM).   I started playing around with it and could fairly easily mock up a web interface so everyone could experiment with it.  If I don't run into too much trouble I might have it done this weekend.

2. #2 / 62
    Commander In Chief tom tom is offline now
    WarGear Admin tom
    Rank
    Commander In Chief
    Rank Posn

Am I correct in understanding that to be able to update Trueskill scores after a multiplayer game, it's required as an input to the ranking function that the players are ranked in order? So we would need a notional 1st, 2nd, 3rd place etc?

This will be tricky to implement as older games in the database don't have the eliminated by field set so the game logs would need to be parsed to establish a finishing order. It's not impossible but it's going to be a pain to do.

3. #3 / 62
    Brigadier General M57 M57 is offline now
    Standard Member M57
    Rank
    Brigadier General
    Rank Posn

tom wrote:

Am I correct in understanding that to be able to update Trueskill scores after a multiplayer game, it's required as an input to the ranking function that the players are ranked in order? So we would need a notional 1st, 2nd, 3rd place etc?

This will be tricky to implement as older games in the database don't have the eliminated by field set so the game logs would need to be parsed to establish a finishing order. It's not impossible but it's going to be a pain to do.