Pages:   1234   (4 in total)
  1. #1 / 68
    Standard Member ratsy
    Rank
    Brigadier General
    Rank Posn

Using color as a strategy or tactic. 

Discuss.

"I shall pass this but once, any good I can do, or kindness I can show; let me do it now. Let me not difer nor neglect it, for I shall not pass this way again." -Stephen Grellet

2. #2 / 68
    Standard Member Chinnie
    Rank
    Colonel
    Rank Posn

I figured when I started playing here that the bright colours can come off as more of a threat, which is why I still usually go with khaki, sky blue and pink.

Another thing perhaps is in a 3-4 player game to pick a colour that is 'in between' other colours. For example if see one player playing red and the other blue I will go with purple so that I may seem less of a threat because I'm more like them.

The last thing that comes up is that the grey/whitish colours might be effective because they blend in with the neutrals/fog of war.

As a final note. It would make sense to me if there is an effect. However, this effect is probably so small that paying that extra minute of thought on the turns is going to do much more.

3. #3 / 68
    Enginerd weathertop
    Rank
    Brigadier General
    Rank Posn

i've seen it tactically used by choosing a color that's near the neutral/background color to "hide". i've tried it from time to time, but only thing i noticed was that it only fooled those that weren't paying attention.

I'm a man.
    But I can change,
    if I have to,
    I guess...

4. #4 / 68
    Standard Member ratsy
    Rank
    Brigadier General
    Rank Posn

I'm gonna agree with fooling those that don't pay attention. But there have been many times, even for myself, that I tend to see some colors as stronger than others, even if they are in balance. And especially in games with more players.