182 Open Daily games
1 Open Realtime game
    Pages:   12   (2 in total)
  1. #1 / 22
    Standard Member sulli
    Rank
    Private
    Rank Posn

I'm somewhat new to risk, but have been playing for a couple weeks.  I'm in a 6 way game on the regular wargear warfare board with medium fog.

Does this make sense as a tactic?  I have greenland, mexico (with columbia neutral), and western US.  I also have angola with mozambique neutral. 

Blue went before me (i'm 5th).  He had Ontario, put all three armies there, and then attacked NW territories.  I don't know if he also has alaska.  I'd obviously like to go after NA, and if possible I'd like to talk blue out of contesting NA. 

Would it make sense to attack the neutral army in mozambique with my 3 armies in angola just to sort of clear a way for blue to talk him into going for africa?  then, if he gives up on NA I might easily take it?

Is that a reasonable strategy or is it always a bad move to make an attack that is obviously going to fail and make life easier for an opponent?  I could easily be getting too cute with this.

2. #2 / 22
    Standard Member btilly
    Rank
    Colonel
    Rank Posn

Here would be my reasoning why not to do this.

Do not make attacks where the odds are against you unless you want to suicide.

Do not make attacks to benefit someone else in the hope of their seeing things your way later.

Generally I'd assume that someone who is working to follow a plan is likely to feel committed to it, and is not about to abandon said plan.

Then again I'm only a decent player.

3. #3 / 22
    Prime Amidon37
    Rank
    General
    Rank Posn

It does sound like you are being "too cute" but it may divert blue's attention.  Especially if his attack in NA went badly.  

The best way to "talk" blue out of NA is to knock him out of it.

What would be nice if he attacked some of the other people in NA and thus made it easier for you to take it after.

4. #4 / 22
    Standard Member AttilaTheHun
    Rank